December Robin

* The giveaway is now closed. *  Congratulations to Sara!

Thank YOU for visiting from Sew, Mama, Sew Giveaway day–this little corner is where I share the fun little projects I make in my sewing (aka laundry) room and join in with sewists and quilters around the globe every week. YOU have inspired me, and I hope I can inspire you!

IMG_20130312_211850-66671637

If you haven’t been here before, take a look around at what else I’ve been working on, and bookmark or follow me to come back again. I do a little of everything–patchwork, quilting, clothing, pouches and totes, , even knitting! I will also share photos from the area, like yesterday this slightly confused robin eating berries from the flowing crab tree down the road (Robin, you are supposed to fly south for the winter).

december robin port hope

One of my favourite recent projects is this broken herringbone quilt (tutorial at Play Crafts). I changed it slightly so the blocks would finish at 14″ ; it is “resting” right now while I finish up some Christmas projects (like the quilt at the top), but I had great fun making this rainbow yumminess.

IMGP3071

The rainbow of modern blender fabrics (these ain’t your grandma’s calicos) are what has drawn me to modern quilting, and I even joined the Modern Quilt Guild this year. So for my gift to one of you, I looked through my stash and made up a rainbow of 8 fat eighths. Because they are from stash, they have been washed, and our home is smoke- and pet-free.

8 fat eighths SMS Giveaway Dec2013

8 fat eighths SMS Giveaway Dec2013

From top to bottom, they are:
Kate Spain Terrain (this one is actually a fat quarter with a piece missing)
Free Spirit Valerie Wells Novella
Kate Spain Honey Honey x2
Denyse Schmidt Flea Market Fancy
Riley Blake The Sweetest Thing
Monica Solario Snow Happy Mochi Yum Yum
Robert Kaufman Sweet Pickles

Click on the button to return to Sew Mama Sew

I will pick randomly from the comments and ship anywhere in the world, just tell me what city/country you are writing from and what is on your project wish list–a new technique, a class with a famous teacher, a retreat? Giveaway closes December 13 at 8 pm EST.

289 comments

  1. I’m from Scappoose, Oregon. I’m signed up for Craftsy class to learn how to make jeans!

  2. I’m from the central coast of California. On my list is to make my first quilt.

  3. I’m from Austin, TX. My biggest wish is a fancy new machine. Juki??? Thanks for the chance to win.

  4. I’m from the US and I’d love to go to Camp Stitchalot!

  5. Kathy M Boice · ·

    I am from Kansas, OH. My wish is going to a quilt retreat some day.

  6. JenniferB · ·

    I am from western North Carolina next to Great Smoky Mountains National Park- I want to take a pottery class this winter

  7. Portland OR, and I’d love a retreat! (Especially before new baby arrives.)

  8. Hello from Ohio! I am gathering the courage to start my very first quilt! Thanks for the giveaway! Amy @ gasudimack(at)sbcglobal(dot)net

  9. I’m from alabama. My entire wish list is just fabric. any fabric lol.

  10. I’m writing from a tiny town in Hungary. Thanks for the chance to win those lovely fabrics! :)

  11. Espoo, Finland. I kind of need a tutorial about buying batting.

  12. Such lovely fabric!
    Thank you for the giveaway!

    I live in sunny Greece.
    My project wish list is very long and varied. If, however, I had to choose just one I’d say I want to start making pjs and underwear for my kid. I have the patterns and am waiting for the time and courage to tackle the job….
    Wish me luck!

  13. I am from the Netherlands. I am making my first quilt ever for my oldest son. I am halfway and looking up information about batting the quilt.

  14. I live in northern Florida. This year I would love to master the New York Beauty block. Happy holidays!

  15. Canada, and insulating my garage haha!

  16. I’m from Texas! I have signed up for my first virtual bee/swap so I am excited to try that out this next year! mrscwatson81@hotmail.com

  17. Kellye Rose · ·

    Hi. I’m from Minnesota and just posted elsewhere that my next project will be an Improv Herringbone..nice to see your blocks.

  18. I live in Ottawa, Canada. I love sew alongs!

  19. Hello from a small town near Akron, Ohio! I am excited to complete my first quilt that is not a baby blanket!

  20. I’m from Washington state. Thanks for the giveaway!

  21. NSW Australia. I desperately want to free motion.

  22. Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I want to use up my cut up stash. So first on the list is a string quilt!

  23. I’m from Woodland Hills, Utah. I just want to make more quilts! I just joined a bee, so I’m super excited to make my first bee quilt.

  24. Leslie F. · ·

    I’m from Litchfield, IL and I have a quilt up first for the new year. It will be my first!

  25. Quilting Tangent · ·

    Cold, chilly New York. Working on quilting my first top, after figuring out my sewing machine.
    Merry Christmas!

  26. thank you for the chance to win. i am from saskatchewan, canada. i want to figure out how to use my automatic needle threader function on my sewing machine..4 years later still cannot figure it out…lol

  27. In The bay area, California

  28. I’m from Beckington in the UK. I’m really hoping DH has bought me a ticket for next years Fat Quarterly retreat, i’ve dropped lots of not at all subtle hints, so fingers crossed!

  29. I’m from Indiana. I hope to make a quilt for my son this winter.

  30. I’m from Prince George, British Columbia, Canada. And I wish to learn to free motion quilt & go on a quilting retreat. :)

  31. Hello from Minnesota! I definitely want to go to my first quilting retreat in the new year.

  32. hello from everson, washington

  33. I am from Texas, USA. I would love to be able to go to a sewing retreat, but there aren’t many in our area. Thanks!

  34. robyn jones · ·

    Hello from Golden Valley, AZ in the USA. I would love to go to a sewing retreat. I have never been to one.

  35. I’m in College Station, Texas. I’ve really been wanting to try english paper piecing!

  36. I am from Breckenridge, Missouri. I really want to learn how to do paper piecing.

  37. I’m from BC Canada and would love to find time for some selfish skirt projects.

  38. Hi I’m from Portugal :) I really want to do more paper piecing, one of those amazing tutorials from net :)

  39. Maria White · ·

    i’m from northern Cali :)

1 4 5 6
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

