In the Nick of Time

A TGIFF for you today, I finally finished my tree skirt that I started 2 years ago! Just 2 pieces of fabric, stitched together with batting, why did it take me so long? I took the opportunity to practice some new (to me) free motion quilting (FMQ) motifs, but of course you can’t see them because I used matching thread on busy fabric (which could be a good thing…).

Christmas tree 2013 with new tree skirt @Lisa in Port Hope

Christmas tree 2013 with new tree skirt @Lisa in Port Hope

And the tree is up! And I vacuumed! I made bias binding, so I went ahead and rounded the corners, which looks great. I sewed the binding on by machine — it‘s under the tree and who is going to look anyway? This is my second finish of Q4 inspired by the Finish-A-Long hosted by She Can Quilt (Q4 list here).

Rounded corners Tree skirt 2013

Rounded corners Tree skirt 2013

I made some coffee cozies yesterday for teacher gifts using this tutorial from Moda Bakeshop. My daughter, ever the astute one, pointed out that Madame (the French teacher) never brings a coffee cup to school. Not even tea? I asked plaintively. No, she replied with assurance. Darn, back to the drawing board.
Coffee Cozies Dec TGIFF
And yes, I know the music teacher’s cozy looks big, I will test it with a Tim Horton’s take-out coffee before I give it away (for any non-Canadians out there, Tim Horton’s restaurants are ubiquitous–we have 4 in our little town).

Linking up to TGIFF at Quokka Quilts.
TGIFF

8 comments

  1. Love the cozies and of course we need 4 Tim’s in Port Hope! I lost count here in Kitchener! BTW cozies can work for cold drinks too! Helps stop condensation. I’m sure the music teacher drinks something…water bottle cozy?

  2. I love the curved edges. I want to give it a try but it is a little daunting.

    1. My only problem was that my seam allowance wandered a bit on the curves, but the bias binding is definitely forgiving.

  3. They will love having those cozies. Pretty tree skirt, too! Perfect call, putting the binding on by machine. I would, too, for this purpose. Perfect for baby quilts, as well.

    1. I had some wrinkles on the centre circle, but generally it worked quite well.

  4. Great idea with the coffee cozies! Love the fabric on the music one especially. I spied a bit of your machine quilting and it looks great! :)

    1. Thanks! I can tell how much I’ve improved over the course of this project.

  5. Very cool finish! all ready for Xmas!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

