Stitches

A little of what I’ve been working on this week.

First up, bee blocks for Simply Solids. Circle of Squares for Carla, in Kona Periwinkle and White.
Circle of Squares for Carla
Snowflake block for Sheila. I want to show you a million pictures of this block, I really do, because I am so tickled about how well it turned out. And I only had to rip out about 3 seams. I started by practicing my 1/4″ seam–those dividing strips are only 3/4″ unfinished, so no room for error. Then I used lots of pins and took it slow.
Snowflake block for Sheila
The tutorial is here. I’m a bit annoyed at the amount of leftover fabric–you certainly don’t need 20″ for the centre diamonds, 10″ is plenty (for a 6-fabric layout like I did). The background fabric is green, it’s not my cloudy photo day, I used Kona Ice Frappe–I was going for very cool colours to suit the block name.

Sadly, that’s the end of the Simply Solids bee for our group, but some of us will be continuing into the new year with a new bee using print fabrics.

And for fun, have you seen the Aurifil Hey Girl slogan contest? Here is one of my entries.
Aurifil Hey Girl (LiPH)
Do go visit Sew Sisters Canada Blogathon, click on the button on the sidebar to hop across Canada, and come back to see me on Saturday!

Linking up to Fabric Tuesday at Quilt Story and Sew Cute Tuesday with Alyce at Blossom Heart Quilts.
Sew Cute Tuesday

4 comments

  1. Really excited to add this to the mix ; ) Thank you!

  2. jenetamasson · ·

    I LOVE these bee blocks – you have done a superb job on both of them!

    1. Thank you and thanks for stopping by!

  3. […] Lisa in Port Hope made this incredible bee block – I’ve had some fiddly bee blocks to make, but nothing like this! That’s one brave Queen Bee! […]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

