Being a Quilter – Modern Quilt Guild Challenge Part 1

What kind of quilter am I? Scrappy, for sure. Loving quilt history, and classic blocks, and symmetry.

I am so glad that the MQG opened up to individual members. And at $25 / year, it’s a pretty cheap addition to my quilting addiction. I was eager to join in with the MQG challenge after seeing the fantastic creations from last year’s project using Madrona Road.

Riley Blake provided the fabric, some of their basics, and we can add any solids or Riley Blake fabric we liked. Riley Blake to me has always meant sweet, somewhat sentimental fabrics, but of course they have some fantastic geometrics and blenders which suit modern quilting very well.

I have tried to make this creation reflect me and my development as a quilter.

Drafting my own block–The name of the block is Mayflower, using Kona schoolbus as the solid, but I had to draft my own to get the 6″ size (ok, it’s actually 5 3/4″. Oops.)
cropIMGP3157

Wonky Churn Dash–A classic block made modern, using this tutorial from Urban Stitches.
cropIMGP3156

Flying Geese–I learned to make flying geese by piecing hundreds during the Bonnie Hunter Easy Street mystery. I think this chevron arrangement suits modern quilting well.
Chevron block

Come back to see what else I will be adding!

Linking up to Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts, WIP Wednesday with Freshly Pieced, and WIP Wednesday with the Needle and Thread Network.
Sew Cute TuesdayWIP Wednesday at Freshly PiecedTNTN WIP Wednesday

20 comments

  1. You look so young! My 90 year old friend could quilt her way out of a jungle. Totally envious of your talents!

  2. Gorgeous blocks :). Love the Mayflower block :).

    1. It was fun fussy cutting the chevron fabric to get the zig-zags.

  3. Fun blocks! I must try a couple.

  4. Only $25/year?! That’s good! I should look into that for next year!

    1. You can join anytime :)

  5. love the chevron arrangement of your flying geese!! very fun!

  6. I love all of the different blocks you are doing, can’t wait to see the others.

    1. Thanks Cheryl, I have to confess that I’m deciding on blocks as I go, so I can’t wait to see the rest too :)

  7. cute! i love your churn dash.

    1. I’m loving these 6″ blocks, they are so fun!

  8. I find it more difficult to not make things line up ….lol

    1. Just when I finally figure out the perfect 1/4″ seam, I have to strive to be crooked! I am loving this selection of blocks so far, much more fun than doing 20 blocks all the same.

  9. I especially like what you did with the zig zag fabric. It is a fun challenge. Looking forward to seeing your finished product.

  10. Great job on all your blocks, Lisa! I love how you chose a solid for all of the backgrounds. Very nice!

  11. Your quilt blocks are looking great. My favourite is that modern churn dash it’s much livelier than the traditional version!

    1. I love it too, I think this collection needs another wonky block to keep it company!

  12. Fantastic blocks, looking forward to the next installment!

  13. I have been staring at my Riley Blake challenge fabrics and was not getting any inspiration. Then I saw your post. Love your blocks. I am now formulating a plan thanks to you.

    1. I look forward to seeing your project.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

