Virtual and Electronic and Real Sunday Stash

Of course we all like to buy more fabric.  But currently it’s coming in faster than it’s going out–I have 4 quilts in progress, plus various other projects cut out or planned.  You understand, I know this.  So I spent an enjoyable evening creating a virtual bundle over at Pink Chalk fabrics (wow, they have Waterfront Park–stop that, Lisa, no more fabric right now), inspired by Rachel at Stitched in Color, with a theme of “Washed Earth”.

It was a bit difficult to find the soft, muted colours I was imagining among the modern prints, but I think this palette of purple, gray, indigo, and teal fits the theme well.  If you want to play, the linky party is open until October 3 here. Lisa's Washed Earth

But I did a tiny bit of shopping this week too, picking up an electronic copy of Amy Butler’s Style Stitches for my Kindle app, on special for craft books month by Chronicle Eye Candy.  It was less than 4 dollars!  I was a bit perplexed to find that the patterns were not with the efile, instead they’re at a separate link, then miffed that they needed a large format printer.  And relieved to find out that my Adobe Reader X could split up the pages onto 8.5 x 11 tiles so that I just have to tape the pieces together.

And finally I received a very yummy box from The Fat Quarter Shop two weeks ago.  Look, Aurifil thread!  I can’t wait to try it out.  Oh, yeah, a few other things to fill it up too…3 yds of wide backing from Robert Kaufman, some Art Gallery Indie and Bespoken from the sale section.

Image

 

Also some pinks and yellows to assist with a quilt for my niece, and Madrona Road sprouts in blue as a stash builder.  Again most of these were on sale, and a big thank you goes to Leanne at She Can Quilt, for the 25-dollar gift certificate that I won recently from her blog.  And if you hurry, the Fat Quarterly 20% off coupon I also used is good ’til September 30th.

Image

 

Linking up to Sunday Stash with Alyce at Blossom Heart Quilts

6 comments

  1. Oooh, gorgeous spots! Is that the wide backing?? That would be gorgeous!

    1. Yes, a 108″ wide back tentatively for a king-size quilt for our bed although I haven’t even started the front yet.

  2. I love your virtual palette. That purple with the cream bird is just gorgeous.

    1. Thanks. It’s a Joel Dewberry print and the swallow motif really works with the calm feeling I was going for.

  3. I love those yellows, oh the teals are great too! Who am I kidding? I love it all!

  4. I love that kind of mustard and turmeric coloured one (I think it’s an Art Gallery fabric) – so lovely! I often find yellows and oranges difficult colours to find, they so often just feel not quite right.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

